jump to navigation

Mahalia Jackson June 25, 2009

Posted by Wheneva Whateva in I Heart Music.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

mahalia-jackson

I haven’t done too many gospel artists this month, but I’ve really been in a Mahalia mood this week.  It’s said that after hearing Mahalia Jackson sing at the 1965 March of Washington Martin Luther King threw out his prepared text and spoke from the heart.  Be sure to check out postings throughout the month.

Trouble of the World… I cry every time this scene comes on during “Imitation of Life.”

Amazing Grace

Two more, including a duet with Nat King Cole, after the jump

Steal Away (with Nat King Cole)

How I Got Over

Comments»

1. MrsGrapevine - June 26, 2009

In the words of my uncle, “That’s Alright!”

2. Jean Pugh - November 14, 2009

All I can say is AMEN!!! I’m working on a serious of drawings and decided to include Ms. Jackson…..Lawd I forgot how that woman could sing….I remember listening to her with my grandmother when I was a little girl and chills would go down my spine……

3. Micke - August 14, 2010

I am a 54 year old semi proffessional rock musician. I love all the great singers of our time: Elvis, John Lennon, Brian Wilson, Ray Charles, PJ Proby, Sam Cooke, Aretha Franklin and so many more…but the greatest of them all is Mahalia Jackson.
Anyway, it´s hard to listen to her, ´cause I cry like a child every time.
A most beatiful human being and the most amazing artist ever. If I had seen her in my youth, when I had the possibility, I would have die right there in the concert hall, but with one of God´s angel singing in my ear.


Leave a Reply

