jump to navigation

Old School Friday: My Current Mood Is… June 5, 2009

Posted by Wheneva Whateva in I Heart Music, Old School Friday.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Happy OSF!  I’m combining Old School Friday & Black Music Month.  Today’s OSF theme is “My Current Mood Is…” pure soul.  Head on over to Marva’s site to view the other OSF participants.

curtismayfield5

The late great Curtis Mayfield stepped on the music scene as a member of The Impressions.  He later went solo and wrote the soundtracks to Superfly, Sparkle, Claudine and other R&B/funk tunes.  Feel free to comment on your favorite tracks. And be sure to check out postings throughout the month.

People Get Ready

Makings of You (from the Claudine soundtrack; performed by Gladys Knight & The Pips)

Superfly

Comments»

1. pprscribe - June 5, 2009

Aw, you posted a clip from “Claudine”–one of my all-time favorite movies. I think I just may cry! When I saw this as a kid I had never seen that kind of simple, sweet Black love depicted on screen.

Thank you for this! Happy OSF.

2. Hagar's Daughter - June 5, 2009

Ditto PPRScribe. I really enjoyed your choices.

(Didn’t know that you were from New Orleans, so am I.)


Leave a Reply

