jump to navigation

Old School Friday: I Had A Bad Day At Work March 27, 2009

Posted by Wheneva Whateva in I Heart Music, Old School Friday.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Usually when I’m in a bad mood I turn to classic soul or gospel.  It always gets me through.

It’s the last Friday of Women’s History Month so this edition is ladies only.  Happy OSF, visit the other participants via OBW’s site.

Nina Simone – Ohh Child

I love this version!

Aretha Franklin – Bridge Over Troubled Waters

Patti Labelle – The Lord’s Prayer

I love Patti when she just sings and not screams at me.

Comments»

1. Kim (BKQueen86) - March 27, 2009

Great choices..esp. that Nina Simone. I love that you tied it in with Women’s History Month.

Happy OSF

2. MrsGrapevine - March 27, 2009

Gospel is the answer, and when I want to be mad, I just can’t. That’s exactly why I didn’t choose it. I want to be mad today.

Nina Simone fuels the fire, Aretha extinguishes it, and Patti just cooled me down.

I like it when Aretha goes back to her gospel roots…Boy she can play the computer.

I don’t think anyone can touch Patti’s voice, range, or technical accuracy. She doesn’t need a mic…

3. MrsGrapevine - March 27, 2009

Look at Oprah’s hair, it’s close to Patti’s…

4. Marvalus - March 27, 2009

I saved Auntie Ree for last…I just love that song.

Patti made me cry almost…her voice is just naturally spectacular.

There are almost no words for Ms. Nina…she reaches down and grabs your soul when she sings…that’s pure goodness.

Happy OSF!

5. Pop Art Diva - March 27, 2009

Wow, the second Nina Simone for me today – what a treat! It’s woman’s history month again? You might enjoy reading some of my posts at The Road To Diva from last year’s Woman’s History Month. Here’s a really cool post about Hedy Lamarr!

If not, just boogie over to The PopArtDiva Retro Blog and swing to a little Big Band music to bring your happy level up!

6. Villager - March 27, 2009

Happy OSF! You hit it outta here with these three choices, especially the one from Nina!

I invite your blog readers to consider that when the workplace is giving you the blues then it is a good time to remember this is a wonderful life!

peace, Villager

7. pprscribe - March 27, 2009

Very nice touch to tie OSF in with Women’s History Month. Excellent choices, all–particularly Nina Simone. Thanks–and Happy OSF!

8. sHaE-sHaE - March 27, 2009

I need to print out the lyrics to Bridge Over Troubled Waters and place it next to my computer. Whenever I feel like opening up a can of whopp a– at my job I can just read the lyrics. 😉

9. hagar's daughter - March 27, 2009

That’s what I’m talking about. Happy OSF.

10. thaconoisseur - March 28, 2009

Aretha was my Dad’s woman…lol

I love that song so much, but when I play it, sometimes it is too much for me. Very emotional.

You really went hard with the ladies this week. Love the pics! 🙂

11. CareyCarey - March 28, 2009

Hello

I am sorry I didn’t knock but I found myself sitting in your house after visiting PBR_scribes. See, I was trying to get into OSF but I must have missed something. Oh well, I found a serendipitous reward by landing here. I am new to blogging so please excuse my intrusion. Heck, since I am here I might as well invite you to my humble abode. If you have time, stop on by and tell me what I need to know …please.

I loved your selections.

When I was a kid, I used to laugh at a deacon in my church when he would say “if I only knew how to prey” …well …if I only knew how to get in OSF’s


Leave a Reply

