jump to navigation

Old School Friday: Remakes January 30, 2009

Posted by Wheneva Whateva in I Heart Music, Old School Friday.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Most times I don’t like remakes especially if the original artist has a distinctive sound.  These are some of the better ones I’ve heard.  I had such a hard time narrowing it down.  I may have to do a part 2.

Something He Can Feel ~ Aretha Franklin (1976) vs. En Vogue (1992)

Aretha recorded this Curtis Mayfield written & produced track for the “Sparkle” movie soundtrack.  Supposedly, the reason Aretha recorded the entire soundtrack is because the movie’s star Lonette McGee, who played Sister, was signed to an independent record label and they wouldn’t allow any recordings to be released.  What made En Vogue so good?  They can flat out sing. Please come back–you’ve been gone too long.  (They were of the era when an artist’s career was about good music and not just showing your a**.)

Aretha’s version:

En Vogue’s version:

Sweet Thing ~ Chaka Khan (1975) vs. Mary J. Blige (1992)

This is easily one of Chaka’s most requested songs, which was recorded with Rufus.  And, clearly Mary channels the soulful original yet adds that hip-hop influence on her debut album What’s the 411.

Chaka’s version:

Mary’s version:

Bohemian Rhapsody ~ Queen (1975) vs. The Braids (1996)

Mama, just killed a man/ Put a gun to his head/ Pulled my trigger, now he’s dead

At first I thought WTH? at those lyrics.  But, I’ve let my inner rock chic out and grown to love Queen.  I own all three of the greatest hits albums.  I choose this one because the remake crosses genres.  I’ll admit it’s difficult to cover this song because Queen is just that good, but I think it works.

Queen’s version:

The Braids version:

Comments»

1. MrsGrapevine - January 30, 2009

Every week I go through several post before I pick the right song and publish it. This morning I chose Giving Him Something He Can Feel, but I used Sparkle the movie’s version vs Aretha and En Vogue.

The I erased it thought about Mary J Blige vs Chaka. I erased that I chose Aaliyah vs Isleys, At Your best.

Anyway, my point is that these are great choices, because I too thought of posting them

Queen’s version os the best simply because it’s more fun to Karaoke.

2. tha Connoisseur - January 30, 2009

En Vogue is my fav on this list. The did it RIGHT, just the way it is supposed to be done. They need to hurry up and bring another album our way, that would be Dee-lightful. 🙂

Happy OSF.

3. Mahoganydymond - January 30, 2009

I loved both versions of the song….. Great Choice….

4. Marvalus - January 31, 2009

Sparkle is my favorite movie of all time, and Giving Him Something He Can Feel is one of those songs that I hold dear to my heart…

Good choice!

5. whenevawhateva - February 1, 2009

Thanks everyone! I really love OSF, and this is my favorite so far. I had so many choices I really had to narrow it down.


Leave a Reply

