jump to navigation

Old School Friday: The Year I Graduated High School (2000) January 9, 2009

Posted by Wheneva Whateva in I Heart Music, Old School Friday.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I love music!!  I have over 10,000 songs on my iPod and it’s not even halfway full.  One of my favorite blog’s hipped me to Old School Fridays with a different theme each Friday.  Old School Friday is perfect for me.  Although, I’m in my mid-twenties I have an old soul–I’m a young old head.  Normally I listen to more old school music than newer artists.  They just don’t make them like they used to (lol).

This week’s theme is “Music From the Year You Graduated High School.”  I chuckled at this week’s theme because 2000 isn’t anywhere close to being old school.  Nevertheless, this was the year of rap and boy bands.  Take a listen…

Santana (ft. Wyclef & The Product G&B) – Maria Maria

Santana came back like he never left the music scene.  This is still one of the songs I vibe to.

Destiny’s Child – Jumpin’, Jumpin’

Even the controversy of group members going and coming couldn’t stop this from being a hot track.

Whitney Houston – My Love Is Your Love

Whitney came back strong after 8 years without a studio album.

Eminem – The Way I Am

Eminem basically told the world what he thought about all the criticism over his lyrics.

Honorable Mentions:

  • Dr. Dre’s “Still D.R.E.” & “XXplosive” ~ Dre came back from behind the boards to let us know he didn’t fall off.
  • Nelly’s “Country Grammar” ~ Yeah it had a sing-song hook, but you couldn’t get it out of your head.
  • Erykah Badu’s “Bag Lady” ~ This track used the same beat as Dr. Dre’s “XXplosive,” although a different version appeared on the album.
  • Sisqo’s “Incomplete” ~ Sisqo stayed true to the Dru Hill sound on his debut album as a solo artist.
Comments»

1. Maurice Chevalier - January 10, 2009

Wow – Brought back some serious memories. Even though I graduated from high-school a “bit” earlier.

2. Soul UK - January 12, 2009

Hey … found your site through Songs In The Key Of Life. I also see myself as an ‘old’ young head lol.

The Santana and Whitney tracks were fav’s of mine from that year too, and still are!

I see that you’ve only just launched … I keep promising myself i’ll start one up but never get round to it. Anyhow keep up the blogging, i’ll be sure to check back!

3. Johnny J. Jones - January 12, 2009

I never would’ve imagined that Nelly would still be relevant today (well, you know…to the point that we remember him at least) with that debut song. I hated that song – yet, I am sure that I could sing it word-for-word to this day. 2000…what a year.

4. Tonya Parker - January 12, 2009

Loving the blog! This is a GREAT outlet for you and the plethora of music information you have stored in your head!

I’ll subscribe!


Leave a Reply

